It’s a Virtual World

 

My husband tells me I live in a virtual world, but I try not to overdue it, however, it is important for your career. It’s part of the job. I wouldn’t say I live in this virtual world: I still have time for other stuff, and spending time with family and friends. 🙂

Though I’ve thought about this virtual world topic for some time, I wanted to post after reading an excerpt from Kristen Lamb’s eBook, Rise of the Machines: Human Authors in a Digital World.

While I’ve been working to get my career from ground level to the next level, 🙂 I admit I’ve had Information Overload. Even so, I continue gobbling up as much information as I can because learning never ends. I’m afraid I’m going to miss out on some great tidbits of information. There are many great author websites with fantastic information. One is Joanna Penn’s site The Creative Penn. And Angela Ackerman’s and Becca Puglisi’s site at Writer’s Helping Writer’s. 🙂 I also find K.M. Weiland’s blog, Helping Writers Become Authors, very insightful. And I recently discovered Zee Southcombe’s site. She also has some helpful information as she works on her career. I highly recommend these sites for those seeking to learn as much as they can on the writing craft. It’s convenient now days to follow these websites from the comfort of your home, and easier than attending classes.

But do we stop long enough to take a break from it all? It’s easy to become overwhelmed with information and sometime we can lose sight of our own writing and journey. After several years of ingesting a lot of helpful information, try to take short periods of time to step out of your virtual world and go into solitary confinement where you can find pleasure in the little things. It’s healthy for your mind. There are so many voices in the world. Find some solitude and relax. Watch the world go by once in a while. You’ll probably walk away more refreshed with a greater perspective.

If you’re having a bad day, one of the most refreshing things to do is read the Old Testament Psalms. 🙂

What are some things you do to find solitude when you want to escape from the craziness of the world?

~Blessings

2 comments on “It’s a Virtual World

  1. Thanks for mentioning amongst such great blogs!

    I agree with you – it is important, and fun, online and there is SO much information.

    Funny I should read this today as tomorrow I’ve decided to spend the morning at one of my favourite beachside cafes and my journal. Drawing & painting are ways I get away from info-overload, and catching up with friends who aren’t writers.

    Of course, reading is good too!

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

